The publication of this Safety Guide for Journalists has been made possible by funding from the Kingdom of Sweden.

We also owe particular thanks to the following for their valuable contributions to this edition, and for their commitment to journalists’ safety:

  • International News Safety Institute:
  • Rory Peck Trust:
  • Dart Center:
  • The French defence ministry information office (DICoD)
  • Agence France-Presse
  • France Médias Monde and its partner Sovereign Global
  • BBC and its partner 1st Option High Risk
  • French Red Cross:
  • Fédération des Secouristes Français Croix Blanche:
  • International Women’s Media Foundation:

Thanks also to Reporters Without Borders’ correspondents in 130 countries worldwide. Without them our organization would not be what it is today.

We also thank the following journalists for the information and advice they gave us:

  • Iqbal Khattak, RSF’s correspondent in Pakistan
  • Stéphanie Perez, a reporter with France 2
  • Christophe Boltanski, a reporter with l’Obs
  • Oksana Romanyuk, RSF’s correspondent in Ukraine and head of the Institute of Mass Information, a Ukrainian NGO
  • Mass Information, a Ukrainian NGO – Paul-Stéphane Manier, a TV reporter, documentary filmmaker and member of RSF’s board
  • Martine Laroche-Joubert, grand reporter à France 2
  • Martin Schibbye, a Swedish freelancer who was jailed for 438 days in Ethiopia
  • Dina Meza, an investigative reporter and RSF’s correspondent in Honduras
  • Emmanuel Sérot, a journalist responsible for safety issues at AFP
  • Alain Mingam, a freelance photoreporter and member of RSF’s board.

Finally, we express our gratitude to all those who support RSF and freedom of the press more generally. There are too many to mention here, but we are aware of the debt we owe them.